2020 Outstanding Contribution of the Year winners | CQI | IRCA Skip to main content

2020 Outstanding Contribution of the Year winners

Meet the 2020 International Quality Awards Outstanding Contribution of the Year winners

Individuals or organisations that has made a significant and lasting contribution to the quality management discipline with clear consequential benefit to society. 

Professor Jiju  Antony

The Professor is recognised as a leader worldwide in Lean Six Sigma methodology for achieving and sustaining process excellence. He is a Certified Lean Six Sigma Master Black Belt and has trained over 1200 people as Lean Six Sigma Yellow, Green and Black Belts from over 20 countries representing over 170 organisations in the last 10 years.

The first winners' scope of contribution to quality management is impressive, spanning academic leadership, education, policy and practice over many years. Professor Jiju Antony’s many books and research papers have covered application in education, the third sector, financial services, manufacturing and the public sector. He continues to have significant influence on policy and practice within industry and especially within the context of the Scottish public sector.

Judges comments

Quality Practitioner Apprenticeship Trailblazer Team

The second winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Quality Management Practice is the Quality Practitioner Apprenticeship Trailblazer Team for their work in developing the first ever Quality Apprenticeship standard.

The judging panel recognized exemplary, collaborative development process involving the Aerospace, Defence, Biotechnology, Consultancy, Training, Services, Public Sector, Construction, Automotive, Pharmaceutical, Transportation and Logistics sectors. The result is a new apprenticeship programme which has the potential to improve the practice of quality management at the crucial base level, and at a scale to make significant progress in addressing the quality skills shortage experienced by many sectors.

Judges comments

See what our other winners and finalists had to say