ISO 50001:2018 Auditor Transition (EnMS) | CQI | IRCA Skip to main content

ISO 50001:2018 Auditor Transition (EnMS)

Course code

8-16 hours


This course brings auditors up to date on the revised version of ISO 50001 and the skills needed to audit against the new standard and includes a 30-minute test.

All IRCA Certificated EnMS auditors are required to ensure their knowledge, skills, and experience pertaining to ISO 50001:2018 are current by the end of the three-year transition period in 2021. The recommended method of doing so is to through successfully completing an appropriate ISO 50001:2018 auditor training course.


PT260: (Combined) Auditor Transition - 16 hours
PT261: (Modular) Auditor Transition – 8 hours
PT211: Annex SL (Module 1) – 8 hours

Who is it for?

All IRCA Certificated EnMS Auditors and it is recommended for professionals working in organisations certified to the ISO 50001 standard, or those looking to work with a newly revised standard.

Learning outcomes

Courses consist of the following:

  • Content relating to the adoption of Annex SL
  • Content relating to the specific requirements of ISO 50001:2018.

Courses are available in two formats:

ISO 50001:2018 (Combined) Transition

This course includes both the Annex SL content and the content specific to ISO 50001 as a combined programme over two days.

ISO 50001:2018 (Modular) Transition

This course has two separate modules: one for the Annex SL content and one for the ISO 50001-specific content. Auditors must attend both modules. However, if you are certificated to either ISO 45001, ISO 14001 or ISO 9001, you do not need to attend the Annex SL module twice.

Some approved training providers offer the two modules as separate courses, for the benefit of auditors certificated to more than one scheme who do not want to repeat the Annex SL content (if you prefer, you can still choose to attend the Annex SL content twice in order to better understand its relevance to both ISO 9001 and ISO 14001).

Find an ISO 50001 transition course

Go to the course directory to find a transition training course near you. If there is no course available in your country, please keep checking. Need help? Please contact [email protected]

Read the CQI Transition Policy

Find this course

Search our database of global Approved Training Partners to find this course in a location near you.

Take the training quiz

If you're not sure which course or level is right for you, take the training quiz and find out.