The International Quality Awards – 2018 winners announced | CQI | IRCA Skip to main content

The International Quality Awards – 2018 winners announced

Progress indicator

We are thrilled to announce the winners of the second International Quality Awards, in association with our proud headline partner SAI Global.

The International Quality Awards recognise excellence within the quality profession. This year’s outstanding winners work across a range of industries and contribute to enhancing the reputations of organisations across the globe.

Estelle Clark, Executive Director of Policy at the CQI and Chair of the Judges, said: “I was blown away by the calibre of the entries we received this year. The breadth of industries and countries represented by the candidates and finalists are a testament to the value the quality profession brings to the wider world. This year’s winners wowed the judges because of their perseverance and the impressive results they achieved under challenging circumstances.”

Congratulations to the 2018 winners – they are…




Emerging Talent Award (in association with NQA)

Khar Voen (Carmen) Chin, PCQI, Alstom Hong Kong Limited, Hong Kong S.A.R., China

This award recognises the quality professional who has contributed most to their organisation within the first eight years of their quality career. Carmen is a Project Quality Engineer at Alstom. She won for her role in improving supplier training, warehouse audits and installation of steel bracketry that carries signalling equipment under train carriages. Her work contributes to ensuring the safety of millions of passengers who use Hong Kong’s railway network.

Innovation through Quality Method (in association with PMI)

The Register of Enterprises of the Republic of Latvia

Entered by Marika Jancenko, Quality Management Expert

This award recognises the organisation that has achieved outstanding results through the application of quality methods in an innovative way. The Register of Enterprises of the Republic of Latvia won for implementing artificial intelligence in its customer service management strategy. UNA is the first virtual assistant of its kind across Latvia’s public administration services.

IRCA Certificated Auditor of the Year

Arlene Ollano-Aguilar, IRCA Lead Auditor, Qatar

This award recognises the auditor who contributed to establishing and running an efficient and effective audit programme. Arlene won for employing a risk-based approach to rigorous auditing of high-profile projects in Qatar, including the Dukhan Highway and the New Doha International Airport. She is currently working to establish an institution that aims to specialise in management system consultancy, training and audit-related services.

Quality Professional in a New Project

Richard Hawke, CQP MCQI, Amway Corporation, United States

This award recognises the quality professional who has contributed most to their organisation with a quality system established from scratch in a project environment. As Principal Engineer at Amway, Richard won for establishing a new quality system to vet foreign suppliers based on a new food safety regulation set out by the US Food and Drug Administration. His work ensures compliance across Amway’s supply chain.

Leadership Award (in association with Siemens)

Howard Cooper, CQP MCQI, Jacobs, United Kingdom

This award recognises a senior manager who has contributed most to their organisation in the establishment of a culture of quality. Howard is Head of Quality for the Jacobs Aerospace, Technology and Nuclear International Business Unit. He won for taking a collaborative approach to establish an integrated system to drive improvement within the business strategy and quality strategy.

Quality Professional of the Year (in association with Shirley Parsons)

Charlie Versi, CQP MCQI, Buildcorp Group Pty Ltd, Australia

This award recognises the quality professional who has contributed most to their organisation in terms of governance, assurance, improvement, leadership and context. Charlie is National Quality Manager for Buildcorp Group. He won for implementing an innovative quality management programme that has helped his organisation deliver defect-free projects. He is pursuing initiatives to move the construction industry forward.

Quality Team of the Year (in association with Nuvia)

Business Improvement Team, Costain, United Kingdom

Entered by David Sanders, Business Improvement Manager

Two teams received this award, which recognises quality professionals who have contributed most to their organisation. Costain’s Business Improvement Team won for raising the profile of quality across the business by developing a new suite of management systems for Costain’s technology services and consultancy services.

Quality Team of the Year (in association with Nuvia)

Pathology Service, Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust, United Kingdom

Entered by Ernesto Jr Quider, Pathology Quality Manager

The Pathology team won for the rigorous quality structures in place across their laboratories. The team provides a high level of clinical and scientific services by working within a culture of transparency and a shared drive for continuous improvement.

Quality Organisation of the Year (in association with Catalyst Consulting)

Hiab AB, Sweden

This award recognises the organisation that best exhibits a culture of quality and puts it at the heart of everything they do. Hiab won this award for its sophisticated approach to strengthening its quality function and embedding quality structures in their DNA. Their clear, extensive approach to quality resulted in a rise in order intake, profit and customer satisfaction.

CQI Honorary Award

Dr Nigel Croft, CQP FCQI

Two individuals received this award, which was not open to entries. This award recognises those who have moved the quality profession or the quality discipline forward over a number of years. Nigel won this award for his substantial contribution to the evolution of the ISO 9000 family – the world’s most popular set of quality management standards. His leadership on the development of ISO 9001, among other major standards, has given companies worldwide the tools to drive improvement and embed quality across all aspects of the business.

CQI Honorary Award

Donald M. Berwick, MD

Donald won this award for his life’s work on driving improvement in the healthcare sector. Through his work with Harvard Medical Schools, he has contributed to the advancement of paediatrics and healthcare policy in the US. In the UK, he was knighted in 2005 for creating new care models in NHS trusts.


2019 International Quality Awards

For more information on the 2019 International Quality Awards, including information on sponsorship opportunities, and to suggest future categories, contact the Corporate Partners team.

Proud Headline Partner

Meet our 2018 partners

Organisations who are passionate about inspiring excellence and celebrating success.

Meet our 2018 Judges

Introducing the 2018 International Quality Awards Judges

Profiles in Quality

Read all about our 2017 Winners and Finalists, be inspired by their inspirational achievements.

2018 Award milestones

1 June - Entries open (Application guide available in May)

31 July - Applications close

10 September - Judging process ends

21 November - Awards Ceremony