ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018 Auditor Transition (IT-MS) | CQI | IRCA Skip to main content

ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018 Auditor Transition (IT-MS)

Course code
PT257 | PT258 | PT211

8 – 16 hours


All IRCA Certificated ITSMS auditors, irrespective of grade, are required to ensure their knowledge, skills and experience pertaining to ISO 20000:2018 are current by the end of the three-year transition period in 2021.

This course brings auditors up to date on the revised version of ISO/IEC 20000-1 and the skills needed to audit against the new standard and includes a 30-minute test.

The recommended method of transition is through successful completion of an appropriate ISO 20000:2018 auditor training course. Alternatively, auditors are required to demonstrate the acquisition of the knowledge, skills and experience through appropriate CPD. This may include, but is not limited to, attending training courses, conferences or seminars: pursuing a course of online study or webinar; private study and reading. Read the full policy document below.

Course duration

  • PT257: (Combined) Auditor Transition – 16 hours
  • PT258: (Modular) Auditor Transition – 8 hours
  • PT211: Annex SL (Module 1) – 8 hours

Who is it for?

All IRCA Certificated IT-SM Auditors and it is recommended for professionals working in organisations certified to the ISO/IEC 20000-1 standard, or those looking to work with a newly revised standard.

Learning outcomes

Courses consist of the following:

  • Content relating to the adoption of Annex SL
  • Content relating to the specific requirements of ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018.

Courses are available in two formats:

ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018 (Combined) Transition

This course includes both the Annex SL content and the content specific to ISO/IEC 20000-1 as a combined programme over two days.

ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018 (Modular) Transition

This course has two separate modules: one for the Annex SL content and one for the ISO 20000-1 -specific content. Auditors must attend both modules. However, if you are certificated to either ISO 45001, ISO 14001, ISO 50001 or ISO 9001, you do not need to attend the Annex SL module twice.

Some approved training providers offer the two modules as separate courses, for the benefit of auditors certificated to more than one scheme who do not want to repeat the Annex SL content (if you prefer, you can still choose to attend the Annex SL content twice in order to better understand its relevance to both ISO 9001 and ISO 14001).

Updating your IRCA certification

Once you have completed your chosen method of transition. Submit your evidence in the form of a training certificate or CPD log to [email protected] and we will update the IRCA register accordingly.

Find an ISO/IEC 20000-1 transition course

Go to the course directory to find a transition training course near you. If there is no course available in your country, please keep checking. Need help? Please contact [email protected].

Find out more about transition training

Read the CQI Transition Policy

Find this course

Search our database of global Approved Training Partners to find this course in a location near you.


Take the training quiz

If you're not sure which course or level is right for you, take the training quiz and find out.