Tickets available now

Join us on Wednesday 27 November 2019 at The Grand Connaught Rooms, in partnership with leading global certification body NQA. 

The International Quality Awards celebrates excellence in the quality sector. Judged via a rigorous evidence-based process, these awards acknowledge the contribution of the quality profession in enhancing the reputation of organisations around the world.

2019 is also the centenary of the CQI. So to mark our milestone anniversary, we will be celebrating the quality profession too: its evolution over the last 100 years and its role in the rise of emerging technology.

At a landmark point in the CQI’s history, we are especially proud not just to reward quality and auditing talent but to laud their contribution to the future of quality.




Emerging Talent Award

  • Jigisha Solanki, Volkswagen Financial Services, United Kingdom
  • Victoria Derbyshire, Nuvia Ltd, United Kingdom 
  • Kimberly Carney, Lifescan, United Kingdom

Recognises a quality professional who has contributed most to their organisation in the areas of governance, assurance, improvement, leadership and context within the first eight years of their quality career.

The Audit System Award

  • Martyn Perks, BAE Systems, United Kingdom
  • Heather Nowak, BSI, United Kingdom

Honours the team that fuels their organisation’s success by establishing and delivering an effective audit system. CQI members and IRCA auditors of any grade can submit entries.

Quality Professional of the Year Award

  • Angelique Macrez, Osborne, United Kingdom
  • Tim O'Hanlon, GE Healthcare Partners EGM, United Arab Emirates 
  • Ammara Tasnim, Ufone PTML, Pakistan 

Celebrates a quality professional who plays a key role in advancing their organisation's governance, assurance, improvement, leadership and context.

Quality Team of the Year Award

  • Shelley Ray, Aspire Defence Services Limited, United Kingdom
  • Stephen Hughes, AWE, United Kingdom
  • Tim O'Hanlon, GE Healthcare Partners EGM, United Arab Emirates 
  • Robert Ayres, Tideway, United Kingdom

Recognises a team of quality professionals who have contributed most to their organisation in terms of governance, assurance, improvement, leadership and context.

Quality Organisation of the Year Award

  • Capella Associates, United Kingdom
  • GE Healthcare Partners EGM, United Arab Emirates 
  • Jacobs UK, United Kingdom
  • Portsmouth International Port, United Kingdom
  • Swiss Port Solutions Vietnam, Vietnam

Distinguishes the organisation that best exhibits a culture of quality and puts it at the heart of everything it does. This award is open to organisation of any size or type.

Improvement System Award

  • Kevin Young, Corin, United Kingdom
  • Michael McCusker, Graham, United Kingdom
  • Hakan Ersoy, TOFAS, Turkey
  • Khaled Galal, Children's Cancer Hospital Egypt 57357, Egypt

Celebrates a team that has moved its organisation forward by establishing and delivering an effective improvement system.

CQI Honorary Award

Pays tribute to an individual who has moved the profession and discipline of quality forward over a number of years; not only in relation to their own organisation, but also on a wider stage. 

This is an honorary award and is therefore not open to entries.

Key dates 

  • October: Interviews take place 
  • 27 November: Awards

The judging process

Phase one: For each category, a panel of three judges evaluates all applications and selects a shortlist of three finalists. This phase is completed online.

Phase two: The finalists present their entry to the judges at a face-to-face interview. Four judges are involved in this phase as the CQI Executive Director of Policy joins


Finalists will be invited to attend a face-to -face interview with the category judges who reviewed their entries. If any finalists are unable to attend in person, they may do so by video conference. The interview lasts up to an hour and the judges can question finalists on any aspect of their submission. Candidates are given the opportunity to elaborate on their written entries. The judging panel decides on the winner of each category after interviewing all candidates.

Watch the 2018 awards show

Profiles in Quality 2018

Profiles in quality explores the journey that winners and finalists have made to spark sustainable and positive change within their organisations.

A key theme in the second edition of the ebook is the universal importance of quality management. The 2018 winners and finalists represented 11 countries: United States, United Kingdom, Sweden, Latvia, Turkey, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Mauritius, Pakistan, China and Australia. They also work in a wide range of sectors including rail transportation, healthcare, automotive, nuclear and defence, infrastructure and construction.