Auditor | CQI | IRCA Skip to main content


Progress indicator

Find out how to become an IRCA Auditor



You must have passed:

  • An IRCA Certified Auditor/Lead Auditor course,


  • A relevant IRCA Certified Auditor/Lead Auditor conversion course (if you are an Auditor/Lead Auditor in another scheme). 

Auditing experience

You must have successfully completed a minimum of four management system audits which:

  • Cover all elements of the audit cycle
  • Amount to a minimum of 20 days
  • Include a minimum of 15 days on site. 

Audits must have been performed: 

  • After passing the relevant IRCA Certified training course 
  • Within 5 years of the date of your application 

Work experience

Some IRCA schemes have additional work experience requirements.

Information on these additional requirements can be found here.

Apply to join IRCA at the Auditor grade

IRCA Certified Training

IRCA auditing courses are delivered globally and cover QMS, EMS, OH&S and more. 

Find your IRCA grade

Take our quiz to find out which auditor grade you may be eligible for