IRCA ​IT Service Management Systems Certification Scheme | CQI | IRCA Skip to main content

IRCA ​IT Service Management Systems Certification Scheme

Progress indicator

The IRCA IT Service Management Systems Certification Scheme is for auditors using ISO 20000.

The scheme is based on the key standard ISO 20000: Information technology – Service management (current edition). To be certificated, you'll need to demonstrate that you have the skills to audit the proper implementation of ISO 20000 (some alternative standards are also accepted – see below).

Who the scheme is for

  • Employees conducting service management system (SMS) audits within their own organisation, i.e. internal audits

  • Service management system (SMS) auditors, e.g. those employed by third-party certification bodies/registrars or by purchasing organisations

  • Service management practitioners, e.g. Service management consultants and other Service management personnel


You are required to demonstrate the following knowledge and competencies (see the 'Sector understanding' and 'Work experience' sections of the application form):

  • Knowledge of the role of service providers and their responsibilities

  • Knowledge of the importance of control of parties involved in the service lifecycle

  • Basic training in service management knowledge (e.g. IRCA will accept the ITIL® Foundation certificate or equivalent training)

  • Knowledge of ITIL®. (IRCA will accept the ITIL® Foundation certificate or equivalent training as satisfying this requirement)

  • Understanding identification and management via risk analysis applied to service management

  • Understanding of service requirements, service management system (SMS), and service management plans and their interaction

  • Understanding the importance of service and the importance of prioritizing

  • Understanding of release and deployment management and change management

  • Understanding Asset management, configuration management and the importance of configuration items (CI)

  • Understanding of the service delivery including continuity and availability, incident management and problem management

  • Understanding of the business relationship management and of the importance of meeting SLAs.

Download the ISO 20000 Transition Policy Statement

Acceptable alternative standards

We may accept audits to alternative standards not listed on the IRCA certification scheme. To find out more please visit the Acceptable Alternative Standards page.

Make an enquiry

Complete the form so that we can best advise you on your next steps to membership and future success.


Take your career to the next level and become a member.

Applying for IRCA certification FAQs

Frequently asked questions about applying for IRCA certification – covering application requirements, training courses and how to record your audit experience.